Prix Ars Electronica 2020 - Digital art competition

by on
Prix Ars Electronica 2020

Prix Ars Electronica 2020 is now open for entries!

Call for Entries: The Prix Ars Electronica, the world’s most time-honored digital art competition, has been recently opened for entries for 2020, accepting entries from all parts of the world.

About ⇣

The Prix Ars Electronica is calling for entries! This is the world’s most time-honored digital art competition with focus on current developments and possible future scenarios at the nexus of art, technology and society.

The Prix Ars Electronica is one of the world’s premier awards honoring creativity and innovativeness in the use of digital media. Every year since 1987, the Prix Ars Electronica has honored the world’s best media art works.

Prix Ars Electronica 2020 has a following categories:

• Computer Animation
You ca submit works of 2D or 3D computer animation, digital short films and narratives, character animation, abstract CG animation, scientific visualizations, commercials, music videos, visual effects, CG for the creative manipulation or enhancement of live action scenes, real-time CG, game cutscenes, machinima, generative visuals, VR, projection mapping, game, Installation focused on new visualization/animation, theater projects, opera project etc.

• Digital Communities
this category focuses on the wide-ranging field of artistic and social projects and activities that aim to deliver social benefits, create and support communities, and foster an open and inclusive civil society.

• Interactive Art +
this category is dedicated to interactive works in all forms and formats, from installations to performances. You can submit: installations, performances, audience participation, network projects, telepresence and communication, virtual reality, augmented reality innovative interfaces, robotics, software, apps,...

in this category you can specific projects or just ideas or designs for the future. In this category everything is allowed!

• Visionary Pioneers of Media Art this category is designed to honor individuals responsible for momentous, groundbreaking achievements—men and women whose artistic creativity and experimentation have not only laid the groundwork for media art as we know it today but also made key contributions to our current social reality with all of its specific forms of communication and cultural techniques.

A work may be entered in one category only. An artist may submit more than one work.

The Prix Ars Electronica 2020 awards presentation will take place during the Ars Electronica Festival 2020 in Linz from September 9-13, 2020. During the Ars Electronica Festival the Golden Nicas, Awards of Distinction and Honorary Mentions are awarded with pomp at the Ars Electronica Gala. The winners of the Golden Nicas and Awards of Distinction are also invited to present their projects at the Prix Ars Electronica Forums which are held over a number of days.

There is no entry fee to participate!

It's free to enter!

Eligibility ⇣

Prix Ars Electronica, digital art competition is open to anyone worldwide.

Prize ⇣

Winners are awarded the coveted Golden Nica statuette, prize money ranging up to 10,000 EUR per category and an opportunity to showcase their talents at the famed Ars Electronica Festival that will be held from September 9-13, 2020 in Linz (Austria).

Filed under ⇣

Further Informations ⇣

Organizer: Ars Electronica

Published by: InfoDesigners