Goldreed Industrial Design Award (GIDA) 2024

by on
Goldreed Industrial Design Award (GIDA) 2024

Goldreed Industrial Design Award (GIDA) 2024 now is over!

Goldreed Industrial Design Award (GIDA) 2024: The 5th edition of the Goldreed Industrial Design Award (GIDA), a unique opportunity for designers and companies to gain visibility on an international level while approaching the Chinese market, has been recently announced for entries in its 2024 edition.

Short description

The Goldreed Industrial Design Award (GIDA) 2023 has been recently opened for entries, hosted by the Xiongan Future Industrial Design Institute and undertaken by GIDA Organizing Committee. GIDA is an international event that celebrates exceptional design and its contribution to building a more sustainable and harmonious future for people and the planet.

GIDA seeks to blend eastern and western design philosophies to foster a future-oriented, sustainable approach to industrial design. It emphasizes the integration of technology, social innovation, and Chinese principles of peace and harmony, aiming to attract global design talents to envision and inspire future lifestyles and urban development.

The award is aimed at any individual, designer, architect, studio, company, university or other institution from any country in the world with the aim of discovering new concepts (not yet on the market) or existing products from 8 categories that can contribute to the harmonious and symbiotic development of man and nature.

Typology of admissible entries are:

PRODUCT GROUP: Products already on the market for no more than two years (that is, products listed on or after March 1st, 2020), in conformity with national industrial policies and relevant technologies and standards.

CONCEPT GROUP: Original design works, never published, sold or produced in the market, with significant innovations in functions, structure, form, technology, materials and low carbon impact.

Each entry (either for the Product or the Concept group) must belong only to one category, choosing from the following eight categories:

Manufacturing equipment
Advanced industrial equipment designs, including industrial equipment, construction equipment, agricultural and forestry equipment, mechanical tools, medical equipment, office facilities, transportation equipment, protective equipment, etc.

Transportation means
Smart transportation designs, encompassing unmanned vehicles, smart buses, high-speed trains, automobiles, aircrafts, mobility tools and facilities, service-oriented vehicles in urban areas, water and underwater vehicles, traffic robots, etc.

Home life
Designs related to home life, including home furniture, home appliances, kitchen and bathroom, home decoration, products for the elderly, children’s products, maternal and child products, toys and musical instruments, etc.

Culture & creativity
Cultural, creative product designs, encompassing local cultural gifts, stationery, fashion clothing and accessories, utensil packaging and tableware, etc.

Sports and healthcare
Sport product designs that can improve people’s mental and physical health, including health and fitness facilities, sports and leisure products, outdoor products, physical fitness test devices, health monitoring devices, etc.

Public facilities
Public facility product designs, including urban furniture, public lighting, guiding signs, shared facilities, information services, sanitation facilities, safety facilities, transportation facilities, facilities for leisure and entertainment, etc.

Digital technology
Designs centered on digital and information networks, encompassing various delivery forms such as system or user experience (UX) in cloud computing, AI, blockchain, VR, smart cities, smart agriculture, IPV6, BDS, etc.

Communication design
Innovative and interactive product designs for corporate image communication, including corporate logos, brand design, display design, packaging design, animation, print advertising media, website interface, user experience, etc.

Both existing products or innovative concepts are welcome.

The jury includes world top-experts and representatives from the design and business community. The main evaluation criteria of the Jury will be based on three dimensions. First is manufacture, focusing on “leading industry”, which covers Second is life, focusing on “lifestyle”, which covers human care and aesthetics. The third is ecology, focusing on “harmony, peace and symbiosis”, which covers sustainability and other factors.

Evaluation Criteria:

Functionality: The design is implementable and maneuverable, meets the needs of users in terms of function and structure, and has good economic marketability, which helps to improve the level of industrial development and user satisfaction.
Innovation: The design is novel and unique in design, innovative in material, science and technology application, which can boost the diversified innovations in terms of society, technology, culture, and economy, etc.
Human Care: The design is safe, healthy and easy to use, and can meet various needs of different users from the perspective of ergonomics, representing equality for all as well as human care.
Aesthetics: The design is aesthetic in form, function and technology, integrating the comprehensive beauty of materials, craftsmanship, technology and culture. It also enjoys emotional value and attractiveness.
Sustainability: The design considers economic, environmental, ethical and social factors to reduce material and energy consumption, cut pollution, guide, meet and sustain consumers’ demands.

More Competitions: