There are two categories:

Leica Oskar Barnack Award (open to professional photographers)
Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award (open to all future professional photographers who are not older than 25 years)

Entry submissions must be a self-contained series of images in which the photographer perceives and documents the interaction between man and the environment with acute vision and contemporary visual style – creative, groundbreaking and innovative.

Participants must send in a series of photographs taken in 2015/2016 or long-te
rm projects containing at least one photo from 2015. Only one entry per photographer is accepted.
Entries will be accepted exclusively as online submissions between March 1 and April 2016. All digital images prepared for uploading must be 1200 pixels high. The width of the image is variable in proportion.

There is no entry fee for this Photography Competition.

It's free to enter!

Who can enter?

This photography competition is open worldwide to professional photographers.


The winner of the main category Leica Oskar Barnack Award receives a cash prize of 25,000 Euros (approx. 27,000 USD) and in addition a Leica M camera and lens worth 10,000 Euros (approx. 10,800 USD).

The winner in the category Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award receives a cash prize of 10,000 Euros and a Leica M camera and lens worth 10,000 Euros.

In addition to these two categories, ten finalists will be awarded each with a cash prize of 2,500 Euro (approx. 2,700 USD) for their series. That means, for the first time, Leica will honour the twelve best photographers in the competition.

Moreover, i-shot-it.com will award a third category in partnership with Leica Camera AG, namely the Leica Oskar Barnack Public Award. The award winner of this category will be determined via online voting on the platform for photo competitions - i-shot-it.com - and will receive a cash prize of 2,500 Euros (approx. 2,700 USD).

Official website

For all further informations about the Leica Oskar Barnack Award 2016 visit the following official website:


Call for Applications Info


Official Website: Link

Published by:



Published on:

Updated on: