Istanbul Photo Awards 2024

by on
Istanbul Photo Awards 2024

Istanbul Photo Awards 2024 now is over!

Istanbul Photo Awards 2024: Istanbul Photo Awards 2024, an international news photography competition for professionals organised by Anadolu Agency is now open for entries accepting entries from all professional photographers worldwide.

Short description

Istanbul Photo Awards, organised by Anadolu Agency, recently has been started to accept applications for 2024! The competition is recognized as one of the world’s top photography contests.

Entries are being accepted in ten categories:

Single News
Story News
Single Sports
Story Sports
Single Nature & Environment
Story Nature & Environment
Single Portrait
Story Portrait
Single Daily Life
Story Daily Life

There is no requirement for applicants to be affiliated with a press organization to apply for the contest, which is open only to the participation of professional photographers. Photographers can take part in the contest with newsworthy photographs taken between 1st January 2023 and 31st December 2023.

Contestants have the right to apply in all categories and they may submit both published and unpublished photos.

The contestants can apply for all categories with no condition whether they are currently working for an organization or their photos are published anywhere.

The jury members will evaluate the submitted photos from many different points of view, such as technical proficiency, perspective, movement, and emotion.

The contest jury, featuring star-studded figures from the photography world, will award the best photos in April 2024.

Submission requirements:

Photos needs to be in high-resolution JPG, JPEG or PNG format. There are no rules on their size but we do not recommend more than 5MB size for one photo regarding to avoid internet connection failures.

Story applications cannot be consist of more or less than 10 images. Photographers must submit 10 images per application. Photographers may apply 2 different stories to each category.

Who may enter?

Only professional photographers can enter the contest, using photos of events that made headlines worldwide in 2022. Along with many staff photographers, a sizeable number of freelance journalists also enter the contest.


The Photo of the Year Award will be given to the photo that stands in first place in the Single News category, and the photojournalist will receive a $6,000 prize.

The first-place winners in each category will be awarded $3,000, the second-place winners $1,500, and the third-place winners $1,000.

Two separate prizes worth $1,000 will be awarded to the works on discrimination among the applications made in all serial categories and the works of young photographers under the age of 28, especially for the decennial of the contest.

More Competitions