Kokuyo Design Award 2021

by on
Kokuyo Design Award 2021

Kokuyo Design Award 2021 now is over!

Kokuyo Design Award 2021: KOKUYO once agian is holding the Kokuyo Design Award 2021, design competition aiming to gather and commercialize designs from a wide range of users in the general public that are excellent from the perspective of those using them.

Short description

The Kokuyo Design Award Kokuyo 2021 now is opened for entries accepting registration and submissions internationaly!

The Kokuyo Design AwardKOKUYO Group is an international competition for user-centric product design, where the best of the best are actually put on the consumer market.

This year the theme is ’POST-NORMAL’.

The world became new while we were totally unprepared for it. Before we are given time to think carefully about things, what we like, dislike, agree with, disagree with, our once - familiar everyday life continues to change. So we try to catch up with the changes, and in our rush many ideas spring up and disappear. What’s important in product design now is to try to face the things around us anew. To take a deep look at the value of continuing to be lastingly and broaly loved. To end not only with an idea, but to think through every detail, to be persistent, and give shape to a product. Organizer is looking for any and all ideas to turn into actual products. Any stationery, furniture or tool used in working, learning and living scenes is eligibile for entries.

Only designs that have never before been shown publicly (in Japan or other countries) are eligible for entry. Multiple submissions are allowed.

Evaluation criteria:

The design’s interpretation of the theme
The design’s level of completion
The design’s potential to become a product

Entrants must be able to make a presentation at the final judging in Tokyo on March 13, 2021.

There is no entry fee to participate!

Who may enter?

Corporations, organizations, individuals, and groups are all welcome, regardless of age, sex, professional background, or nationality.


The Grand Prix (one winner) will recive ¥2,000,000 (about $18,000), Merit Award (three winners) will recive totaly ¥500,000 (about $4,500) per winner.

More Competitions: