James Dyson Award 2024

by on
James Dyson Award 2024

James Dyson Award 2024 now is over!

James Dyson Award 2024: The James Dyson Foundation recently has opened entries for its James Dyson Award 2024, annual international student design award and competition that celebrates, encourages and inspires the next generation of design engineers.

Short description

The James Dyson Award 2024 now is open for entries! This is an international design award that celebrates, encourages and inspires the next generation of design engineers.

Open to current and recent design engineering students, this competition is run by the James Dyson Foundation, an international charity dedicated to encouraging young people to realize their engineering potential.

The brief is ’Design Something That Solves a Problem’. Organizer is looking for designers who think differently, to create products that work better. This year the James Dyson will also looking for entries that address a sustainability issue, or have been designed, sourced or manufactured sustainably.

If you don’t want to work alone, or if you studied something else but have a brilliant idea you want to share, you can still enter as part of a team.

You can enter as many projects as you want, and you are encouraged to enter your design even if it’s at the latter stage of the design process or is already on the market. At all times, the intellectual property in relation to the project will remain the entrant’s.

Projects will be judged on the strength of the entry, not just the invention itself. You’ll need to communicate the significance of your invention, but also how the product was developed and how you reached your final design. Demonstrating an iterative, trial-and-error approach will serve you well.

Sir James Dyson will select (at his discretion) the international JDA winner, the international JDA runners-up and the sustainability winner.

Who may enter?

Open to current university students of engineering, product design and industrial design and those who have graduated in these subjects in the last four years.


Two awards of $30,000 each will be awarded to the International and the Sustainability winner. In addition, International runners up and a National winner will be selected.

More Competitions: